Republic of Djibouti
National name: Jumhouriyya Djibouti
Government: Republic with a unicameral legislature.
Geography: Djibouti lies in northeast Africa on the Gulf of Aden at the southern entrance to the Red Sea. It borders on Ethiopia, Eritrea, and Somalia. The country is mainly a stony desert, with scattered plateaus and highlands.
Area: 8,880 sq mi (23,000 sq km)
Population: (2003 est.): 457,130 (growth rate: 2.1%); birth rate: 40.8/1000; infant mortality rate: 107.0/1000; density per sq mi: 51
Capital: (2003 est.): Djibouti, 547,100
Monetary unit: Djibouti franc
Languages: Arabic and French (both official), Afar, Somali
Ethnicity/race: Somali 60%, Afar 35%, French, Arab, Ethiopian, and Italian 5%
Religions: Islam 94%, Christian 6%
Agriculture: fruits, vegetables; goats, sheep, camels.
Industries: construction, agricultural processing.
Natural resources: geothermal areas.


Djibouti Page

Djibouti Net

Current Travel Advisory

Djibouti at Model League of Arab States Djibouti at UPenn

Djibouti at GORP

Addis Ababa University Home Page