State of Brunei Darussalam
Government: Constitutional sultanate.
Geography: Brunei is an independent sultanate on the northwest coast of the island of Borneo in the South China Sea, wedged between the Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak.
Area: 2,228 sq mi (5,770 sq km)
Population (2003 est.): 358,098 (growth rate: 1.6%); birth rate: 19.7/1000; infant mortality rate: 13.5/1000; density per sq mi: 161
Capital and largest city (2003 est.): Bandar Seri Begawan, 78,000
Monetary unit: Brunei dollar
Languages: Malay (official), Chinese, English
Ethnicity/race: Malay 67%, Chinese 15%, other 18%
Religion: Islam (official religion) 67%, Buddhist 13%, Christian 10%, indigenous beliefs and other 10%
Agriculture: rice, vegetables, fruits, chickens, water buffalo.
Industries: petroleum, petroleum refining, liquefied natural gas, construction.
Natural resources: petroleum, natural gas, timber.


The Government of Brunei Darussalam Official Website

National Institutions:

Representations in Foreign Countries: