Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria
National name: Al Jumhuriyah al Jaza'iriyah ad Dimuqratiyah ash Shabiyah
Government: Parliamentary republic
Geography: Algeria is bordered on the west by Morocco and Western Sahara and on the east by Tunisia and Libya. The Mediterranean Sea to the north, and to the south are Mauritania, Mali, and Niger. The Saharan region, which is 85% of the country, is almost completely uninhabited. The highest point is Mount Tahat in the Sahara, which rises 9,850 ft (3,000 m).
Area: 919,590 sq mi (2,381,740 sq km)
Population: (2003 est.): 32,818,500 (growth rate: 1.7%); birth rate: 21.9/1000; infant mortality rate: 37.7/1000; density per sq mi: 36
Capital and largest city (2003 est.): Algiers, 3,917,000 (metro. area), 1,742,800 (city proper)
Other large cities: Oran, 752,200; Constantine, 530,100; Batna, 278,100; Annaba, 246,700
Monetary unit: Dinar
Languages: Arabic (official), French, Berber dialects
Ethnicity/race: Arab-Berber 99%, European less than 1%
Religion: 99% Islam (Sunni)
Agriculture: wheat, barley, oats, grapes, olives, citrus, fruits; sheep, cattle.
Industries: petroleum, natural gas, light industries, mining, electrical, petrochemical, food processing.
Natural resources: petroleum, natural gas, iron ore, phosphates, uranium, lead, zinc.


Embassy of Algeria in London, Great Britain and Northern Ireland

ermanent Mission of Algeria to the U.N- N.Y ( USA)

Harakat Moudjtamaa Silm (HMS)

Front Islamique du Salud (FIS) [Islamic Front for Salvation]

Rassemblement pour la Culture et la Démocratie (RCD) [Movement for the Culture and the Democracy


The World Algeria Action Coalition (WAAC)